Jesse's Journey Foundation

Defeat Duchenne. Change Lives.

Live in the MOVEment – September 1 – 25, 2020

WHO:

Maggie Aynsley and Kasha Mitton, creators of The MASH Movement, will be hosting Live in the MOVEment – 25 days of movement, mindfulness, and motivation in celebration of Jesse’s Journey 25th anniversary.

Bringing together over 30 years of combined experience in education, healthcare and fitness, they are on a mission to influence change in the arena of rare diseases by cultivating experiences for people to “Live in the MOVEment”.

WHAT:

September is Duchenne Awareness Month and The MASH Movement has partnered with Jesse’s Journey to celebrate their 25th anniversary and raise awareness and funds for Duchenne muscular dystrophy. This experience offers a unique opportunity for participants to move their bodies and stretch their minds, all from the comfort of their home! Register for Live in the MOVEment and personalize your experience of health and wellness.

For $25, you will receive 25 days of live events and pre-recorded online fitness classes from a line up of wellness leaders from across the globe.

Your monthly pass includes:

  1. Various types of yoga
  2. Fitness classes
  3. Meditations
  4. Health and motivational talks

With all of the stress and worry in the world, we encourage you to take the month and focus on bringing awareness to your health and wellness. Your support means the world and makes a difference in the lives of children and young adults living with Duchenne.

We want to thank the incredible facilitators who will be donating their time and expertise to help create this diverse 25 days of mind and body growth!

OUR WHY:

No words could explain what Kasha and her husband felt when they were given the news that their 4-year-old son, Jude, had Duchenne. Their lives since that day have consisted of numerous trips to Children’s Hospitals, many medical interventions including surgery, trial medications, tears, tough conversations and sleepless nights.

What brings hope?

The support and compassion from friends, family and the people whose faces they have never met. Hope is born in the caring of others and it’s this hope that fueled Kasha and Maggie to create The MASH Movement.

The MASH stands for movement, awareness, service and health. These core values are the foundation and purpose of their social platform and fundraising events. Their aim is to end the fatal diagnosis of Duchenne muscular dystrophy. Their hope is to build connections and community while helping others mentally, physically and emotionally along the way.

Follow The MASH Movement on Instagram: @themashmovement

REGISTER:

Class Schedule:

Who: Co-creators of the MASH movement, Maggie Aynsley and Kasha Mitton

What: 60 min Power Yoga

When: Tuesday, September 1 –  4:30 p.m. PST / 7:30 p.m. EST

***

Who: Baptise Power Yoga Teacher, Leandra Antonutti

What: 45 min Power Yoga

When: Wednesday, September 2 – 9 a.m. PST / 12 p.m. EST

***

Who: Founder of Sweat with Kathryn, Kathryn Smith

What: 30 min Boot Camp

When: Thursday, September 3 – 5:30 p.m. PST / 8: 30 p.m. EST

***

Who: Certified Yoga & Animal Flow instructor, Leah Hennessy

What: 60 min Yoga Flow

When: Saturday, September 5 – 7 a.m. PST / 10 a.m. EST

Who: Power Yoga Canada Teacher, Jax Mccauley

What: 60 min Power Flow

When: Tuesday, September 8 – 8 a.m. PST / 11 a.m. EST

***

Who: President of Summit Team Building, mountain & polar adventurer, lululemon ambassador, Scott Kress

What: 60 min Motivational talk with Q&A on courage and resilience

When: Wednesday, September 9 – 9 a.m. PST / 12 p.m. EST

***

Who: Co-owner BARRE Kamloops, Geralyn Alain

What: 45 min Barre

When: Thursday, September 10 – 12 p.m. PST / 3 p.m. EST

***

Who: Owner of Oxygen Kamloops Aberdeen, Dina Simmons-McLeod

What: 45 min Hatha Yoga

When: Friday, September 11 – 12 p.m. PST / 3 p.m. EST

***

Who: Power Yoga Canada Teacher, Morgan Tryon

What: 60 min Power Yoga

When: Saturday, September 12 – 9 a.m. PST / 12 p.m. EST

***

Who: Power Yoga Canada Teacher, Dani Ableman

What: 45 min Power Yoga

When: Sunday, September 13 – 8 a.m. PST / 11 a.m. EST

***

Who: Power Yoga Canada Teacher, Jen Noordijk

What: 60 min Deep Flow

When:  Sunday, September 13 – 4 p.m. PST / 7 p.m. EST

Who: Owner of Namaste North, Meghan Huehn

What: 60 min Yoga Flow

When: Monday,  September 14 – 9 a.m. PST / 12 p.m. EST

***

Who: Founder of The Sweat Series & Power Yoga Canada Teacher, Daria Betlej

What: 30 min Flow

When: Tuesday, September 15 – 5:30 a.m. PST / 8:30 a.m. EST

***

Who: Co-founder of LIMBUS movement & MD, FRCPC, Dr. MC Bourque

What: 45 min LIMBUS

When: Tuesday, September 15 – 4 p.m. PST / 7 p.m. EST

***

Who: Founder of Leilani Reid Yoga, Leilani Reid

What: 60 min Hatha Yoga

When: Wednesday, September 16 –  11 a.m. PST / 2 p.m. EST

***

Who: Founder of Tapasya Yoga, Co-founder Shamanic Yoga Institute, Kristin Campbell

What: 60 min Hatha Yoga

When: Thursday, September 17 – 9:30 a.m. PST / 12: 30 p.m. EST

***

Who: Owner of K Spin Indoor Cycling Studio & Barre Instructor, Samantha Gibson

What: 45 min Barre Bata

When: Thursday, September 17 – 4: 15 p.m. PST / 7:15 p.m. EST

***

Who: Founder of Heather Coates Yoga, Heather Coates

What: 60 min Gentle Flow

When: Friday, September 18 – 4 p.m. PST / 7 p.m. EST

***

Who: Owner of Power Yoga Muskoka, Jenn Binnington

What: 60 min Power Yoga

When: Saturday, September 19 – 7:30 a.m. PST / 10:30 a.m. EST

Who: Yoga Instructor, MADabolic Trainer, Johanna DeCastro and Sound Healer, Jazz LeiAmora

What: 60 min Yoga Flow and Sound Healing

When: Monday, September 21 –  2 p.m. PST / 5 p.m. EST

***

Who: Owner of Yoga Now Kamloops, Lacey Hook

What: 45 min Yoga Flow

When: Tuesday, September 22 – 9 a.m. PST / 12 p.m. EST

***

Who: Power Yoga Canada Instructor, Nick Vetro

What: 60 min Power Yoga

When: Wednesday, September 23 – 4 p.m. PST / 7 p.m. EST

***

Who: Registered Dietician & Blogger, Lindsay Pleskott

What: 45 min tips and tricks to healthy snacking with Q&A

When: Thursday, September 24 – 12 p.m. PST / 3 p.m. EST

***

Who: Co-creators of the MASH movement: Maggie Aynsley & Kasha Mitton

What: 60 min MASH Up Flow

When: Friday, September 25 – 4: 15 p.m. PST / 7:15 p.m. EST

You’ll also have access to any of the below classes during any time that works for you!

  1. 10 min Guided Meditation – Deedee Jones, Founder of Soul Technologies
  2. 10 min Guided Meditation – Kinndli McCollum, Co-founder of Power Yoga Canada
  3. 15 min Warm-up Stretch for a Walk/Run – Shannon Kelsey, Run Coach
  4. 15 min Booty Band Workout – Mel Grauds, Founder of Melrose Training
  5. 20 min Upper Body Workout – Rebecca Pointin, Owner of SpinCo Oakville
  6. 20 min Guided Meditation – Meditation & Yoga Instructor, Erin Tetarenko
  7. 30 min Spin at Home – Samantha Gibson, Owner of K Spin Studio
  8. 30 min BURN Bootcamp – Mandy Dimarzo, Creator of the BURN
  9. 40 min “Strong Core, Soft Heart” Yoga Flow – Kailyn Piva, Yoga Instructor
  10. 40 min Slow “Grounding” Yoga Flow – Jil Forbes, RMT/Yoga Instructor
  11. 40 min Yoga – Val Pullen, Yoga Teacher / Reiki Healer
  12. 45 min Booty & Core Yoga – Aneta Pietruszko, Co-owner of PYC Burlington
  13. 45 min Barre Workout – Kristen Pickell, Co-owner Barre Kamloops
  14. 50 min Bodyweight Abs and Glutes – Lorraine Korobanik, Personal Trainer and Yoga/Fitness Instructor
  15. 50 min “Playful Celebration” Power Flow Yoga – Jil Forbes, RMT/Yoga Instructor
  16. 50 min Hatha Yoga – Randi Gardypie, Yoga Instructor
  17. 50 min Yin Yoga – Caitlin Johnson, Yoga Teacher
  18. 55 min Vinyasa Yoga – Whitney (Lew) Murray, Founder of hiwhit yoga
  19. 60 min Story Coaching Workshop – Anna Mullens, Creator of Unapologetically HER Maggie Aynsley and Kasha Mitton Co-Creators of The MASH Movement

Duchenne Families:

Help us raise awareness of Duchenne throughout the month of September by sharing your story. It could be your favourite family photo, a short message of hope, or sharing your “why” – email us at themashmovement@gmail.com.

About Jesse’s Journey:

Jesse’s Journey is Canada’s leading charity in the fight to defeat Duchenne muscular dystrophy – the most common fatal genetic disease diagnosed in childhood.

For the past 25 years, Jesse’s Journey has empowered patients, families, and caregivers living with Duchenne through education and resources, provided a collective voice to advocate for access to treatments in Canada, and has become the country’s largest funder of Duchenne research investing more than $13.1M in projects around the world.

About Duchenne muscular dystrophy:

  • Affecting approximately 1 in every 5,000 boys in Canada, Duchenne gradually weakens the body’s muscles due to the loss of the protein, dystrophin, ultimately leading to the deterioration of vital organs, such as the heart and lungs.
  • Most kids with Duchenne use a wheelchair by the time they are 12, and with improved care powered by research, more people with Duchenne are living into their early 30s.
  • While we celebrate the progress made, we are still in a race against time to find a cure, and must fight to ensure Canadian boys and young men have equal access to treatments once discovered.